Riven, Boehm recognized for service with 2018 President’s Award

Posted on: November 30th, 2017 by tgregory

Stephen S. Riven and Frank Boehm will receive the 2018 President’s Award, the highest honor bestowed by Jewish Federation of Nashville and Middle Tennessee. 

Federation President Lisa Perlen will present the award next month at the annual dinner of the Federation’s Bonim Society, which includes individuals and couples who make a gift of $1,000 or more to its annual campaign. 

The dinner is set for Sunday, Jan. 28 at the Gordon Jewish Community Center. For more information contact Naomi Limor Sedek at naomi@jewishnashville.org.  

“It is an honor and privilege to be able to award the President’s Award to two pillars of the Nashville Jewish Community – Dr. Frank Boehm and Mr. Steve Riven,” Perlen said in an email. “Both are past presidents of the Jewish Federation of Nashville and Middle Tennessee who continue to work to further the mission of the organization. 

“On a personal note, I have been fortunate to call upon each of them for advice in my various roles with the Jewish Federation over the years and find their dedication and commitment contagious. Frank and Steve are an inspiration to leaders throughout the Nashville community.”  

Frank Boehm

Dr. Frank H. Boehm is professor and vice chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and chairs The Observer’s editorial board. 

He has long been active in Nashville’s Jewish community and in the community at large. 

Boehm just completed his chairmanship of the Jewish Federation’s 2017 annual campaign, a successful project that drew generous contributions that enabled the Federation to extend more grants for programs that benefit the community. He is a past president of the Jewish Federation of Nashville and Middle Tennessee and a past chair of the Jewish Foundation of Nashville and Middle Tennessee. Boehm also chaired the Jewish Federation’s Community Relations Committee. 

He has moderated many discussion programs on current events, most recently a Temple Town Hall on Nov. 8 on the topic “Truth in Reporting in an Era of Fake News” and featuring former NBC weekend anchor John Seigenthaler.

In addition to co-writing a medical text on fetal health, he has written “Doctors Cry, Too,” a collection of personal essays on physicians, patients and their families, and “Building Patient/Doctor Trust,” a compilation of expert and personal opinions surrounding health care, both medical and political.

Stephen Riven

Stephen S. Riven is founder and senior managing partner at Avondale Partners, an independent Nashville-based investment banking, wealth and investment advisory partnership that was founded in 2001.

Riven is being recognized for his long and productive service to Nashville’s Jewish community. He served as Jewish Federation president from 1996 to 1998 and as the Jewish Federation’s Annual Campaign chairman in 1978 and 1983. 

He has helped many Jewish college students at Vanderbilt University as president of the board at Hillel, starting shortly after the Ben Schulman Center opened at the university in 2002. He led the Jewish Federation’s Best Jewish Nashville project in 2010, changing and improving how the Federation sets priorities and develops programs to serve the Jewish community. 

Riven also worked to ensure that Jewish community institutions will have firm financial foundations for the future through the development committee of the Jewish Foundation of Nashville and Middle Tennessee and through his service as chair of The Temple’s Securing Tomorrow Today endowment campaign. 

The President’s Award was established in 2012 and is presented annually to individuals who have a distinguished record of commitment to the Jewish people through their exemplary philanthropy, dedicated community service and betterment of Jewish life in Nashville, Israel and around the world. 

Previous winners are Sandy Averbuch z’’l (2012), Bob Eisenstein (2013), Raymond Zimmerman (2014), Moshe and Libby Werthan (2016) and Patti and David Steine Jr. (2017). The 2015 award was presented jointly to Annette Eskind, Richard and Jane Eskind z’’l, Bernice and Joel Gordon and Eugene Pargh and Madeline Pargh z’’l.  •